top of page

ITIL® 2011 Continual Service Improvement (CSI)

ITIL® Intermediate Certifications: Service Lifecycle Module

DURATION: 32 hours (4 days)


An ITIL® Foundation certificate and preferably two years work experience in an IT Service  Management environment.

Course Description

ITIL® is comprised of five core publications: Service Strategy, Service Design, Service Transition, Service Operations and Continual Service Improvement, promoting alignment with the business as well as improving operational efficiency. The official ITIL® qualification scheme describes two streams, the Service Lifecycle Stream and the Service Capability stream.

The Service Lifecycle stream focuses on ITIL® practices within the Service Lifecycle context. The prime focus is the Lifecycle itself as well as the process and practice elements used within it.

The Service Capability stream is for those who wish to obtain an in depth understanding of ITIL® processes and roles. Attention to the Service Lifecycle is illustrated as part of the curriculum but the primary focus is the on the process activities, execution and use throughout the Service Lifecycle.

This 4-day course immerses learners in the overall concepts, processes, policies and methods associated with the Continual Service Improvement (CSI) phase of the Service Lifecycle. The course covers the management and control of the activities and techniques within the CSI stage, but not the detail of each of the supporting processes. This course is designed using an engaging scenario-based approach to learning the core disciplines of the ITIL® best practice and positions the student to successfully complete the associated exam.

Course Objectives

At the end of this course, the learner will gain competencies in:


  • Understanding Service Management as a Practice and CSI principles, purpose and objective.

  • Understanding how all CSI processes interact with other Service Lifecycle processes.

  • The sub-processes, activities, methods and functions used in each of the CSI processes.

  • The roles and responsibilities within CSI and the activities and functions to achieve operational excellence.

  • How to measure CSI performance.

  • Understanding technology and implementation requirements in support of CSI.

  • The challenges, critical success factors and risks related to CSI.


Upon successfully achieving the ITIL® Continual Service Improvement certificate, students earn 3 credits in the ITIL® qualification scheme.

Project Management Institute - Professional Development Units (PDUs) = 28

Who Should Attend

The Continual Service Improvement Lifecycle course will be of interest to:

  •  Individuals who have their ITIL® 2011 Foundation Certificate who want to purse the intermediate and advanced level ITIL® certifications.

  • Individuals who require a deeper understanding of the CSI stage of the Service Lifecycle and how activities in this Lifecycle stage may be implemented to enhance the quality of IT service management within an organization.

  • IT professionals working in or new to a CSI environment who require and understanding of the concepts, processes, functions and activities involved.

ITIL Intermediate Training Philippines

ITIL® is a registered trade mark of AXELOS Limited, used under permission of AXELOS Limited. All rights reserved.
The Swirl logo™ is a trade mark of AXELOS Limited, used under permission of AXELOS Limited. All rights reserved.

The ITIL® Licensed Affiliate logo is a trade mark of AXELOS Limited, used under permission of AXELOS Limited. All rights reserved.

Phoenix One Knowledge Solutions Inc. is a Licensed Affiliate Partner of Quint Wellington Redwood to deliver the full suite of ITIL® training & certification in Philippines.

bottom of page